301 redirects

Need help? Please give a detailed explanation of your problem.
Dgalassi1792
AllPro Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:09 pm
Website: apwt.bluezenith.com

301 redirects

Postby Dgalassi1792 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:00 pm

Hi! Once one of my clients are released on their live URL, I need that URL to forward to a renamed subdomain of their existing (old) site. In other words, the old site is being renamed (rehoused) as old.example.com. I need example.com/pagename to forward (301 redirect) to old.example.com/pagename once their All Pro site is released as example.com. From looking at the redirection tool you have in All Pro, I'm not able to designate any other "forward to" domain but the domain that the site is on - so I won't be able to redirect them over to another URL, as is needed.

here's a picture

devsite.example.com will become example.com (when releasing the site on all pro)
example.com/pagename (current page name) will become old.example.com/pagename (so existing clients can access their current information housed in wordpress).
Once released, I need to forward the link example.com/pagename TO old.example.com/pagename

SO... I need a 301 redirect that sets up that redirection.

I hope this makes sense! I usually do this in an HTACCESS file, but am not sure how to access that file on All Pro.

Let me know if you have questions.
User avatar
Dave
Support Team
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 10:30 am
Website: www.allprowebtools.com
Contact:

Re: 301 redirects

Postby Dave » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:20 pm

You can accomplish this by selecting "Website" and clicking on "My Webpages".

Create a new webpage called "pagename".

Next, click on the "Settings" tab and click the button labeled "Redirect this page". You will see additional options display at the bottom of the screen where you can insert a complete URL.
Dgalassi1792
AllPro Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:09 pm
Website: apwt.bluezenith.com

Re: 301 redirects

Postby Dgalassi1792 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:28 pm

Thank you Dave! That helps!




Return to “Help / How to use AllProWebTools”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron